By Prof. Dr. Ing. Volrad Wollny, University of Applied Sciences, Mainz, Germany

This test report concerns the CO2-Calculator (Version Offset V3, as at June 2011), produced by the bvdm (German Printing and Media Industries Federation) to enable companies to draw up a balance sheet of the CO2 footprint of their individual print jobs. The object of the critical review is the model for offset printing – no tests were made for gravure and digital printing. This is a continuation of the first critical review carried out by the same person on 13 December 2008.

The model is based on a Life Cycle Analysis (Ecological Balance Sheet) restricted to one effect parameter – the greenhouse effect – expressed in the emission of CO2 equivalents with an effect horizon of 100 years. The model is comprehensive and provides detailed information about the printing process, which is its core area of application. As opposed to previous versions, company master data is firmly stored and so only the job data needs to be entered for an individual balance sheet. This reduces the risk of input errors. The company master data (e.g. power consumption of the machines) is compiled and entered by the printing company together with a federation expert, and cannot be directly changed by the printing company. Besides generic industry data, it is also possible to use self-ascertained operating data (e.g. additives consumption) or data obtained from suppliers and thus portray the individual conditions of a company or job more precisely. The calculator also has a practical and user-friendly design.

A special feature of this critical review is that it refers to a calculator model and not to a specific CO2 balance sheet. Examples of balance sheets produced by this CO2-Calculator were already available at the time the critical review was made. The person responsible at bvdm, Mr. Brandt, provided all the documentation required by the reviewer and a full explanation of the calculator’s modus operandi.

The critical review concluded that the bvdm CO2-Calculator meets the requirements of the ISO Life Cycle Assessment standards 14040 and 14044 that apply to it. Furthermore, the review also included the draft of a standard for the Carbon Footprint of Products ISO 14067-1 and 14067-2 from June 2010 as well as a working draft of the ISO standard 16759 Carbon Footprint (Graphic technology – quantification and communication for calculating the carbon footprint of print media products). Here it can also be confirmed that the requirements of the (draft) standard were met.

The objectives and target groups are precisely stated, and the examination framework is appropriately selected. The methods used in the CO2-Calculator are scientifically based and conform to state-of-the-art Life Cycle Assessment technology. As far as Life Cycle Assessment is concerned, the data employed is sufficient and effective. The possible influence of data inaccuracy was examined by sensitivity analyses, and its possible influence on balance sheet results is negligible. The results, information and evaluations that the CO2-Calculator provides meet the objective and the identified limitations have been adequately taken into account. The documentation and report concerning the CO2-Calculator are understandable, sufficiently accurate, and coherent.

Mainz, 17 June 2011
Prof. Dr. Ing. Volrad Wollny

About Prof. Dr. Ing. Volrad Wollny, born in 1958

Prof. Dr. Ing. Volrad Wollny After studying and obtaining his doctorate at the Darmstadt Technical University, he was an R&D Manager in the pulp and paper industry. In 1990 he joined the Institute for Applied Ecology in Darmstadt where he was responsible for research and consulting for public and private clients in the fields of waste management, Life Cycle Assessment, environment protection processes, environment management, and sustained development.

Since 2001 Dr. Wollny has been a Professor at the Mainz University of Applied Sciences, specializing in materials flow management and logistics in the field of economics. He lectures in normative, strategic and operative management, environment controlling, environment management, materials and production management, as well as supply chain management.

In the fields of printing, paper and Life Cycle Assessment, Dr. Wollny has conducted numerous appraisals and research projects, among others for the Association of Plastic Manufacturers Europe (APME), Duale System Deutschland AG, the EU Commission, Pet-Cycle GmbH and Steidl-Verlag. At present he is involved with a comprehensive CO2 balancing project aimed at “Optimization of the waste management system in Hamburg under the special aspect of climate protection“.

Dr. Wollny is a recognized expert for ecological balancing methodology.

Der Prüfbericht der Klimainitative

Von Prof. Dr. Ing. Volrad Wollny, FH Mainz

Der vorliegende Prüfbericht bezieht sich auf den CO2-Rechner (Version Offset V3, Stand Juni 2011), der vom Bundesverband Druck und Medien (bvdm) erstellt wurde, um Unternehmen die Bilanzierung des CO2-Fußabdrucks einzelner Druckaufträge zu ermöglichen. Gegenstand der kritischen Prüfung ist das Modell für den Offsetdruck, Tiefdruck und Digitaldruck wurden nicht geprüft. Es handelt sich um eine Fortschreibung der ersten kritischen Prüfung vom 13.12.2008, die vom gleichen Prüfer vorgenommen wurde.

Das Modell basiert auf einer Lebenszyklusanalyse (Ökobilanz), beschränkt auf den Wirkungsparameter Treibhauseffekt; ausgedrückt in der Emission von CO2-Äquivalenten mit dem Wirkungshorizont 100 Jahre. Das Modell ist umfassend und im Kernbereich, dem Druckprozess, detailliert ausgeführt. Im Gegensatz zu vorherigen Versionen werden Betriebsstammdaten fest eingegeben, so dass für eine einzelne Bilanzierung nur noch die Auftragsdaten eingegeben werden müssen. Dadurch wird die Gefahr von Fehleingaben verringert. Die Betriebsstammdaten (z.B. der Stromverbrauch der Maschinen) werden vom Betrieb zusammen mit einem sachkundigen Verbandsmitarbeiter erhoben und eingegeben und können vom Betrieb nicht direkt verändert werden. Neben generischen Branchendaten können dabei auch selbst ermittelte Betriebsdaten (z.B. Hilfsmittelverbrauch) oder Daten von Lieferanten verwendet und so die individuellen Bedingungen eines Betriebes oder Auftrages noch genauer abgebildet werden. Zugleich ist das Modell praktikabel und benutzerfreundlich gestaltet.

Eine Besonderheit der hier vorgelegten kritischen Prüfung ist der Bezug auf ein Rechenmodell und nicht auf eine konkrete CO2-Bilanz. Beispiele für mit diesem CO2-Rechner erstellten Bilanzen standen bei der kritischen Prüfung bereits zur Verfügung. Herr Brandt (bvdm) als Verantwortlicher hat alle vom Prüfer geforderten Unterlagen bereitgestellt und volle Einsicht in das Rechenmodell gewährt.

Die kritische Prüfung kommt zu dem Ergebnis, dass der CO2-Rechner des bvdm die für ihn zutreffenden Anforderungen der Ökobilanznormen DIN ISO 14040 und 14044 erfüllt. Darüber hinaus wurde in die Prüfung der Entwurf einer Norm für den Carbon Footprint von Produkten ISO 14067-1 und 14067-2 vom Juni 2010 sowie der Arbeitsentwurf der ISO 16759 Carbon Footprint (Graphic technology – quantification and communication for calculating the carbon footprint of print media products) mit einbezogen. Auch hier kann die Erfüllung der Norm(entwurfs)anforderungen bestätigt werden.

Die Ziele und Zielgruppen sind genau benannt. Der Untersuchungsrahmen ist passend gewählt. Die im CO2-Rechner angewendeten Methoden sind wissenschaftlich begründet und entsprechen dem Stand der Ökobilanz-Technik. Die verwendeten Daten sind in Bezug auf das Ziel der Ökobilanz hinreichend und zweckmäßig. Der mögliche Einfluss von Datenungenauigkeiten wurde mit Sensitivitätsanalysen überprüft. Ihr möglicher Einfluss auf das Bilanzergebnis ist gering. Die mit dem CO2-Rechner möglichen Ergebnisse, Aussagen und Auswertungen entsprechen der Zielsetzung und die erkannten Einschränkungen werden angemessen berücksichtigt. Die Dokumentation und der Bericht zum CO2-Rechner sind nachvollziehbar, hinreichend genau und in sich stimmig.

Mainz, den 17.Juni 2011
Prof. Dr. Ing. Volrad Wollny

Über Prof. Dr. Ing. Volrad Wollny, geb. 1958

Prof. Dr. Ing. Volrad Wollny Nach Studium und Promotion an der TH Darmstadt Leiter F&E in der Papier- und Zellstoffindustrie. Ab 1990 beim Öko-Institut e.V. in Darmstadt, verantwortlich für Forschung und Beratung auf den Gebieten Abfallwirtschaft, Ökobilanzen, Umweltschutzverfahren, Umweltmanagement und nachhaltige Entwicklung für öffentliche und private Auftraggeber.

Seit 2001 Professor an der Fachhochschule Mainz für Stoffstrommanagement und Logistik im Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Vorlesungen zu normativem, strategischem und operativen Management, Umweltcontrolling, Umweltmanagement, Material- und Produktionswirtschaft sowie Supply Chain Management.

Dr. Wollny hat in den Themengebieten Druck und Papier sowie Ökobilanzen zahlreiche Gutachten erstellt und Forschungsarbeiten durchgeführt, unter anderem für die Association of Plastic Manufacturers Europe (APME), für die Duale System Deutschland AG, die EU-Kommission, die Pet-Cycle GmbH und den Steidl-Verlag. Aktuell ist er an einer umfangreichen CO2-Bilanzierung mit dem Ziel einer „Optimierung der Abfallwirtschaft in Hamburg unter dem besonderen Aspekt des Klimaschutzes“ beteiligt.

Dr. Wollny gilt als anerkannter Fachmann für Methodik der Ökobilanzierung.